Jun 18, 2008,11:21 PM
Kon & Amir present Off Track Vol. 2: Queens

As with their previous collection Off Track Vol. 1: Bronx, don’t be concerned that you might not recognise many of the artists, just trust these DJs. And if the Bronx was hot, you’ll want to get the next train to Queens. Kon’s cramed his disc with 11 pre-house disco soul monsters that’ll force you to get your plastic out to book up for the next Southport Weekender whatever the state of the credit crunch. His tracks really represent the farthest reaches of the underground scene of the 70s and some of which are augmented with some edit work to expand the grooves.

Amir takes CD2 in a totally different but absolutely dance orientated direction. Now if Queen’s is as African as Amir’s CD, this Borough is a whole melting pot of sounds from the mother continent with diversions via Jamaica, Brazil and big Afro-Cuban beats. All of them are great, and very different than the usual bag of material that ever gets reissued.

Kon’s Selection
1 Angelo Tinsley — Get Down With Me
2 Wood Brass And Steel Band — Long Live Music (Kon’s Edit)
3 The Fabulous Conti Family — You’ve Got Me Goin’ Baby (Kon’s Edit)
4 Venise — Don’t Think About It (Kon’s Live Edit)
5 Sweet Touch — Live It Up (Kon’s Dub Re-touch)
6 Jay W McGhee — Turn Me On (12” Version)
7 Terry Nova — Push With Size (Kon’s Live Edit)
8 Phillip And Lloyd — Keep On Moving
9 Reflections — Reflex
10 Eddie Benitez — We Are The Ones (Somos)
11 Sparkle — Let Yourself Go (Kon’s Edit)

Amir’s Selection
1 Ras Michael & The Sons Of Negus — Boma Yeah
2 Bentho Gustave Titou & L’International Poly-Rythmo — Agnon Djidjo
3 Pedro Gnonnas Et Ses Panchos — Okpo Videa Bossouo
4 Black Truth Rhythm Band — Save D Musician
5 Honore Avolonte Et L’Orchestre Black Santiago — Assounon Dje Dokoli
6 Theodora Ifudu — Hello There
7 Abacothozi — Theme Maboneng
8 Bentho Gustave Titou L’orchestre Poly-Rythmo — I Ya Me Dji Kibi Ni
9 Super Boire Band — Samba
10 Earl Rodney — Midnight Man
11 William Onyeabor — Something You’ll Never Forget
12 Orchestre Black Dragons De Porto-Novo Dahomey — E Sa F’aiye

Bonus selections
1 Dan Satch & His Atomic 8 Dance of Aba - Je Nr'okan
2 Kapingbdi - Wrong Curfew Walk
3 Trama - Straigt Groove
4 Kapingbdi - Kapingbdi
5 Orchestre Black Dragon de Porto - Novo Dahomey - Se Djro
6 Bob Brault Org. - Bilboquet

posted by THEFIFTHMICROPHONE                                                                                                           ¤ Permalink ¤ 4 comments
Jun 11, 2008,9:01 AM
Danny Krivit Introduces P & P Records

Quite possibly the greatest look at the P&P family of labels you will hear, but that's really no surprise, given that the man at the helm of the project is legendary DJ and club collector Danny Krivit. Krivit's look at the label goes deeper than any we've heard before, and really goes out of its way to bring together the full range of P&P related material from the 70s and early 80s...not just the better-known club tracks, but also some excellent soul and funky numbers too -- really fleshing out our understanding of the mighty talents of Peter Brown and Patrick Adams! The work here was originally spread over a large number of indie labels...including a few that weren't P&P related, but simply licensed their productions. Krivit's really done his homework in pulling the tracks together. Styles run from uptempo club to funky soul, and most numbers here are presented in their full original 12" mixes!

Disc: 1
1. Groove I'm In [Original 12" Mix] - Florence Miller
2. Love Fantasy [Original 12" Mix]
3. I Just Want to Spend My Life with You [Original Full Album Version] - Caress
4. My Baby's Got E.S.P. [Original 12" Mix] - Four Below Zero
5. Ain't It Time [Original 12" Mix] - Queen Yahna
6. Atmosphere Strut [Original 12" Vocal Remix] - Cloud One
7. Everything Man [Original 7" Mix]
8. It Ain't No Big Thing [Original 12" Mix] - Rainbow Brown
9. Mr Blindman [Original Full Album Version] - Donna McGhee
10. Johnson Jumping [Original 12" Mix] - Johnson Products
11. Got to Get Your Love [Original 12" Mix] - Clyde Alexander
12. Dance Freak [Original 12" Mix] - Chain Reaction
13. New York Applejack [Original 12" Mix] - Scott Davis
14. Rock Spank Freak [Original 12" Mix]

Disc: 2
1. Guardian Angel Is Watching Over Us [Original 12" Mix] - Margo Williams
2. God's Greatest Gift to Man Is a Woman [Original 12" Mix]
3. Pound for Pound [Original 12" Mix]
4. I Did It Again [Original 12" Mix] - Jesse Henderson
5. Stereo Funk [Original 12" Instrumental Mix] - Danny Krivit
6. New York's Movin' [Original 12" Mix] - Ahzz
7. It's Gihin Be Cornbread Time [Original 12" Mix]
8. Feel the Spirit [Original 12" Mix] - Foster Jackson
9. Moan for Love [Original 12" Mix]
10. Funk Rap [Original 12" Instrumental Mix]
11. Superstition [Original 12" Mix] - Dennis Mobley & Fresh Taste
12. Let's Just Stay Away [Original 12" Mix] - Louise Murray
13. God Save and Protect the Children [Original 12" Mix] - Margo Williams
posted by THEFIFTHMICROPHONE                                                                                                           ¤ Permalink ¤ 0 comments